Academic Senate Queensborough Community College The City University of New York Committee on Bylaws Meeting Tuesday, May 16<sup>th</sup>, 2006 4:00 p.m., A-508

### **Minutes**

**Present**: Robert Holt, Susan Jacobowitz, Kevin Kelly, Sharon Lall-Ramnarine, Howard Lapidus, David Sarno, Craig Weber

**Absent**: Belle Birchfield, Vincent Defazio

# I. Approval of Minutes.

The approval of the minutes of the previous meeting were postponed until the next meeting because the secretary, who had the minutes, was absent.

#### II. Academic Freedom Committee

The committee agreed with the assessment at a previous meeting that the creation of an Academic Freedom Committee is not warranted at this time. The duties that this committee would perform are handled by the Faculty Executive Committee.

### **III. Perez Decision**

The committee agreed that each member would go over a part of the Bylaws to <u>determine</u> what changes may need to be implemented in the wake of the Perez Decision.

### **IV. Election of Officers**

Susan Jacobowitz was re-elected Chair, and Robert Holt was elected Secretary of the Bylaws Committee for the 2006-2007 Academic Year.

## V. Adjournment.

A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 4:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Robert Holt