Foreign Languages and Literatures - Faculty

The Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures is an integral part of Queensborough Community College’s global outreach endeavor. The cultural and linguistic diversity of its faculty members and the rich variety of their research interests bring to the classroom a multicultural perspective that is essential to understanding the world-at-large. The faculty is highly experienced and qualified, and thoroughly dedicated to teaching and scholarly research. The Department's course offerings range from elementary to advanced foreign language, literature, and culture courses.

Click on the faculty's name to access that faculty's mini-biography and home page.

Faculty Member/Contact Information

Arabic

Osorio, Jose
Professor and Chairperson
ARABIC and German Coordinator

Email: JOsorio@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5432
Office: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 11:00-12:00pm, Wed 11:30 - 12:30pm (Online)

Mohammed, Amany
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Email: AMohammed@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 9:00-10:00am, Thurs 3:30 - 4:30pm (Online)

Chinese

Lai, Wei
Assistant Professor and CHINESE Coordinator
Email: WLai@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5375
Room: H217
Office Hours: Wed 4:00-5:00pm, Thurs 11:00-1:00 (Online)

Chen, Chianli
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: CChen@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00pm (Online)

Lin, Lan Shiang
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: LLin@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00pm (Online)


French

Efthimiou, Jeanine
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: JEfthimiou@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Wed 11:00-12:00pm & 3:00-4:00pm (Online)

Francois, Claire
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: CFrancois@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Wed 11:00-12:00pm & 1:00-2:00pm (Online)

Jean-Baptiste, Claudine
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: CJeanbaptiste@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues 3:00-4:00pm (Online)

Krienke, Kai
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Email: KKrienke@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Wed 1:00-2:00pm (Online)

Lindquist, Martine
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: MLindquist@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Thurs 8:00-9:00am (Online)


German

Osorio, Jose
Professor and Chairperson
ARABIC and German Coordinator

Email: JOsorio@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5432
Office: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 11:00-12:00pm, Wed 11:30 - 12:30pm (Online)

Ellis, Lorena B.
Professor
Email: LEllis@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5444
Room: H217
Office Hours: Thurs 6:00-7:00pm (Online)

Rossi-Miller, Monica
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: MRossimiller@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues 10:00-11:00am (Online)


Italian

Santoro, Maurizio
Professor and ITALIAN Coordinator
Email: MAsantoro@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5451
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00pm & Thurs 11:00-12:00, 5:00-6:00pm (Online)

D'Arista, Umberto
Lecturer
Email: UDarista@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5508
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon, Tues, Wed 12:00-1:00pm (Online)

Rossi-Miller, Monica
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: MRossimiller@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 1:00-2:00pm (Online)


Spanish

Chaves-O’Flynn, Carolina
Assistant Professor and SPANISH Coordinator
Email: CChaves@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon, Thurs, Fri 9:00-10:00am (Online)

Sánchez, Mélida
Assistant Professor and SPANISH Coordinator
Email: MSanchez@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5435
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 11:00-12:00pm Tues, Wed 10:00-11:00am (Online)

Alvarez, Sobeyda
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: SAlvarezinestroza@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Thurs 4:00-5:00pm (Online)

Borrachero, Aranzazu
Professor
Email: ABorrachero@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5454
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon, Tues, Wed 12:00-1:00pm (Online)

Garcia-Conde, Luisa
Associate Professor
Email: LGarciaConde@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5452
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues 4:00-6:00pm & Wed 4:00-5:00pm (Online)

Gonzalez, Nidia
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Email: NGonzalez@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 2:00-3:00pm & Sat 11:00-12:00pm (Online)

Leon, Julio
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Email: JLeon@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Wed 1:00-2:00pm (Online)

Madrigal, Jose
Associate Professor
Email: JMadrigal@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5374
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues, Thurs 12:10-1:10pm & Wed 11:30-12:30pm (Online)

Osorio, Jose
Professor and Chairperson
ARABIC and GERMAN Coordinator

Email: JOsorio@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5687
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues, Thurs 11:00-12:00pm & Wed 11:30-12:30pm (Online)

Raya, Eladia
Associate Professor
Email: ERaya@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5450
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 12:00-2:00pm & Tues 11:00-12:00pm (Online)

Reeves, Sharon
Associate Professor and Deputy Chairperson and FRENCH Coordinator
Email: SReeves@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5412
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 12:00-3:00pm (Online)

Reyes, Jose
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: JMReyes@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Sat 11:00-12:00pm (Online)

Ruiz, Luz Marina
Adjunct Lecturer
Email: LRuiz@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Mon 4:00-5:00pm & Tues 5:00-6:00pm (Online)

Sabani, Laura
Associate Professor
Email: LSabani@qcc.cuny.edu
Phone/Voice Mail: (718) 281-5432
Office: (718) 631-6259
Room: H217
Office Hours: Tues, Thurs 11:00-12:30 pm (Online)

Faculty by Language

Arabic

Full-Time: Jose Osorio (Coordinator)
Adjunct: Amany Mohammed (Adjunct Assistant Professor)

Chinese

Full-Time: Wei Lai (Coordinator)
Adjuncts: Chianli Chen, Lan Shiang Lin

French

Full-Time: Sharon Reeves (Coordinator)
Adjuncts: Martine Lindquist, Jeanine Efthimiou, Claire Francois, Kai Krienke

German

Full-Time: Jose Osorio (Coordinator)
Adjunct: Monica Rossi-Miller

Italian

Full-Time: Maurizio Santoro (Coordinator), Umberto D'Arista
Adjuncts: Monica Rossi-Miller

Spanish

Full-Time: Carolina Chaves (Coordinator), Luisa Garcia-Conde, Jose Madrigal, Jose Osorio, Eladia Raya, Sharon Reeves, Laura Sabani, Melida Sánchez (Coordinator), Aranzazu Borrachero
Adjuncts: Sobeyda Alvarez Inestroza, Nidia González, Julio León (Adjunct Assistant Professor), José Reyes, Luz Marina Ruiz, Alexander Perez-Heredia

Emeritus

Campus Cultural Centers

Kupferberg Holocaust Center exterior lit up at nightOpens in a new window
Kupferberg Holocaust Center Opens in a new window

The KHC uses the lessons of the Holocaust to educate current and future generations about the ramifications of unbridled prejudice, racism and stereotyping.

Russian Ballet performing at the Queensborough Performing Arts CenterOpens in a new window
QPAC: Performing Arts CenterOpens in a new window

QPAC is an invaluable entertainment company in this region with a growing national reputation. The arts at QPAC continues to play a vital role in transforming lives and building stronger communities.

Queensborough Art Gallery exterior in the afternoonOpens in a new window
QCC Art GalleryOpens in a new window

The QCC Art Gallery of the City University of New York is a vital educational and cultural resource for Queensborough Community College, the Borough of Queens and the surrounding communities.